What's the difference between a p. c. r. test and a lateral flow test?

Polymerase chain reaction (PCR) tests are sent away to a lab to diagnose disease Lateral flow tests (LFTs) can diagnose Covid-19 on the spot, but aren’t as accurate as PCR tests