How many tails does nine tails have?

Traditionally, the cat o' nine tails was a whip made of 9 knotted cords made from a rope of of nine thinner cords. It caused lacerations to the skin when used on the backs of sailors and was very painful. I understand that it was abolished in the UK as recently as 1948.