How many postcodes are in the u. k.?

There are approximately 1.7 million postcodes in the United Kingdom, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man. Each postcode is divided by a space into two parts. A postcode district can be 2-4 digits in total and on average is 33 square miles in size.