What happened to tyrion lannister?

At the end of Game Of Thrones, Tyrion is named Hand of the King, a title he is really not happy to be taking for a third time. Bran insists that it's part of his punishment—he made a lot of mistakes and now he's going to spend the rest of his life serving the realm and fixing them.