What's tomo synthesis?

Tomosynthesis is an advanced form of mammography. It produces three-dimensional ( 3D ) images using a low-dose x-ray system. Tomosynthesis has been approved for use in the NHS breast screening programme as an optional extra tool in the assessment of screen detected soft tissue breast abnormalities.