Who was the first animal on the moon?

There have been no animals on the moon. However the first animals to orbit the moon and return to Earth were two Russian tortoises aboard Zond 5. On 15 September 1968, the tortoises were launched with plants, seeds and bacteria around the moon and returned to Earth seven days later.