How do you know when potatoes are ready?

The tubers are ready to harvest when they're the size of hens' eggs. With maincrops for storage, wait until the foliage turns yellow, then cut it down and remove it. Wait for 10 days before harvesting the tubers, and leave them to dry for a few hours before storing.