Why are chihuahuas called chihuahuas?

Chihuahua are named after the Mexican state of Chihuahua, where the breed was first recognised in the mid-19th century. Chihuahuas are thought to have been derived from the Techichi, a small, mute dog kept by the Toltec people of Mexico as long ago as the 9th century AD.