Why is the marathon twenty six point two miles?

At the 1908 Games in London, Queen Alexandra requested that the race start on the lawn of Windsor Castle and finish in front of the royal box at the Olympic stadium, a distance that happened to be 26.2 miles. By 1921 it was formally standardised as the length of a marathon.