What's the difference between a calorie and a kilo calorie?

A calorie is a unit of energy, approximately equal to 4.2 Joules. Scientifically, a kilocalorie is just 1,000 calories (so 4.2kJ). The confusion comes when we talk about the energy in food: "food 'Calories'" are actually kilocalories, often written on food labels as kCal.