How do you make a coin?

The methods used to make coins has evolved. Coins were first made in the ancient kingdom of Lydia well over two thousand years ago. The minting process for ancient coins was quite simple. A small lump of gold, silver, or copper was placed on a coin die embedded into a solid surface like a rock.