Is m. i. seven real?

Yes, MI7 is real. It was a branch of the British War Office’s Military Intelligence, with responsibilities for press liaison. It was originally established in the 1st World War, and disbanded after the signing of the Armistice. However, it was re-formed at the start of the 2nd World War.