What is a unicorn startup?

A unicorn is a privately held startup company valued at over US$1 billion. The term was made popular in 2013 by venture capitalist Aileen Lee, choosing the mythical animal to represent the statistical rarity of such successful ventures. At startup, no company knows it will become a unicorn.