Why did the endurance sink?

The Endurance had been struggling for months beforehand after becoming trapped in dense pack ice. A drop in temperature from 42 degrees fahrenheit to a chilly -14 degrees fahrenheit in October 1915 led to the ice gradually weighing the ship down, which lead to it sinking.