What are the belts?

The 6 belt colours in Karate are: white, orange, blue, yellow, green, brown, and black belt. This coloured system was first used in Judo by Dr. Jigoro Kano, as an effective indicator of student progress, then it was later adopted by Gichin Funakoshi who founded Shotokan Karate.