Why are chillies spicy?

Capsaicin is the chemical in chili peppers that makes them spicy. Capsaicin in chili peppers is measured on the Scoville Scale and expressed in terms of Scoville Heat Units (SHU). The hottest chilli pepper is the Carolina Reaper, which rates at an average of 1,641,183 SHU.