What was the penny bizarre?

The first ever Marks’ Penny Bazaar opened in 1884 in Leeds Kirkgate Market. Michael Marks classified his merchandise according to price, with one section costing a penny and marked with the slogan 'Don’t ask the Price, It’s a Penny'.