How did the olympic sink?

The Olympic did not sink. On May 15, 1934, in a heavy fog, the Olympic struck and sank the Nantucket lightship, a boat that was positioned to mark the shoals near Cape Cod, Massachusetts. Olympic was later blamed for the accident. In April 1935 the Olympic was retired from service.