Why are butlers called butlers?

The word "butler" comes from Anglo-Norman buteler, variant form of Old Norman butelier, corresponding to Old French botellier "officer in charge of the king's wine bottles", derived of boteille "bottle", Modern French bouteille, itself from Gallo-Romance BUTICULA bottle.