How much does it cost to change your name legally?

You must apply to the Royal Courts of Justice to get an ‘enrolled’ deed poll. It costs £36. You do not have to follow a legal process to start using a new name. But you might need a ‘deed poll’ to apply for or to change official documents like your passport or driving licence.