Is red rum dead?

Red Rum died on 18 October 1995, aged 30. He was buried at the winning post of the Aintree Racecourse. The epitaph reads, "Respect this place, this hallowed ground, a legend here, his rest has found, his feet would fly, our spirits soar, he earned our love for evermore"