What does aqua infinity do on minecraft?

The Aqua Affinity enchantment speeds up how fast you can mine blocks underwater. It basically means that your mining speed will be equivalent to if you were mining on land. The enchantment can be added to any helmet or leather cap by using an enchanting table, or game command.