How do you breathe underwater in minecraft?

In Minecraft, any of the potions or arrows enchanted with Water Breathing will provide the ability to breathe under water for the duration of the effect. Wearing a Turtle Shell helmet extends the air the character can store, meaning they can spend longer underwater before needing to breathe.