What kind of noise does an airplane make?

An airplane will make different sounds depending on its type. Turboprop aircraft have a higher pitched engine note, along with the sound of the blades displacing the air. Turbofan aircraft, the typical commercial type, make a roaring sound, which is more pronounced on takeoff and landing.