What is a ghost bush?

Monotropa uniflora, also known as the ghost plant, Indian pipe, ghost bush or corpse plant, is an herbaceous perennial plant native to temperate regions of Asia, North America and northern South America, but with large gaps between areas. The plant was classified in the family Ericaceae.