What is dolby audio?

Dolby Digital, also known as Dolby AC-3, is the name for audio compression technologies developed by Dolby Laboratories. Originally named Dolby Stereo Digital until 1995, except for Dolby TrueHD, the audio compression is lossy, based on the modified discrete cosine transform algorithm. Wikipedia