What is a non traditional intersection?

A road layout that reduces the complexity of traffic flows at a road junction. Typically it involves diverting turning traffic to cross a larger oncoming stream before the junction. At the main intersection both the traffic paths, and the traffic signalling requirement, are much simplified.