What does gate mean in drama?

The word gate is a suffix added to the end of other words to suggest a political scandal or cover up. Gate comes from the Watergate scandal in the USA in the 1970s which led to the resignation of U.S. President Richard Nixon. The scandal was named after the Watergate complex in Washington, DC.