What does kangaroo mean?

There's a myth that Kangaroo means "I don't know", but it isn't true. When Arthur Phillip arrived in 1788, he used the word "kangaroo" to reference such an animal and was surprised this met with puzzlement. He didn't realise there were over 250 languages spoken by the indigenous people at the time .