How long does kale take to cook?

Once the water reaches a full boil, fully submerge the rinsed kale. Cover with a lid and allow the water to come back to a boil. Then reduce the heat slightly and allow the kale to boil for five minutes. After five minutes, use a fork to retrieve a piece of kale and test it for tenderness.