What is a rhotic replacement?

Rhotacism (/ˈroʊtəsɪzəm/) or rhotacization is a sound change that converts one consonant (usually a voiced alveolar consonant: /z/, /d/, /l/, or /n/) to a rhotic consonant in a certain environment. The most common may be of /z/ to /r/.