How does the moon get smaller?

The moon changes size in two ways. It has an elliptical orbit, which means that sometimes it is a bit nearer and bigger, sometimes a bit further away and smaller. It also waxes and wanes (appears to change shape, getting more or less round), depending on how it reflects the sunlight.