How long does it take to make mash potato?

Cut potatoes into quarters and cook in boiling water for about 15 minutes. The length of time you need to boil the potatoes depends on how big they are cut. To check if your potatoes are ready, use a fork to poke the potato and see if it is tender. once cooked drain, mash then add milk and butter.