Why are dogs called dogs?

“Dog” started out as the Old English docga, which referred to a particular type of dog, generally kinds of mastiffs. ... Mastiffs were so common at the time that when the word then became Middle English dogge and then Modern English “dog”, the meaning shifted from “mastiff” to any sort of dog