What sound does an airplane make?

This depends on the type of aircraft & its mode of operation at the time of hearing it. Piston engined aircraft, usually fitted with propellers, make a very different sound to a turbine or jet engined aircraft, & even different configurations of turbine engine, for example, turboprop, vary greatly