What is n. b. music?

NB is a Latin abbreviation for “nota bene” meaning “note well.”. It is there to draw your attention to a footnote, in the case of music it points out a section of sheet music that can optionally be cut. A good example of this usage is Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue.