What color was santa's original suit?

The poem "Twas The Night Before Christmas" by Clement Moore, first associated Saint Nick with reindeers (and named them) and in early illustrations he was drawn in a green outfit, although the poem just mentions that "He was dressed all in fur, from his head to his foot".