Who invented sticky toffee pudding?

Francis Coulson and Robert Lee of Sharrow Bay Country House hotel, saying they got the recipe from Patricia Martin who had published it in The Good Food Guide Dinner Party Book. Coulson's son has, however, said it came from two Canadian officers stationed nearby during World War II.