What time of year do you plant?

That depends on the type of plant you are trying to grow, most seeds are best sown in early spring either in a greenhouse or other warm space, trees and scrubs are better moved and planted in thier formant season late autumn to early spring in frost free ground. Gardening is an enjoyable activity.