What is another name for carbolic acid?

Carbolic Acid is also known as Phenol, or Benzenol. It is a white, crystalline solid. Phenol is volatile and dissolves in water to produce a weak acid. Originally discovered in coal tar, it is now produced in massive quantities as it is used in the manufacture of plastics.