When did the mayor civilization end?

The Maya civilization developed in the area that today comprises southeastern Mexico, all of Guatemala and Belize, and the western portions of Honduras and El Salvador. It ran from 2000 BC until the Spanish empire captured the last city of Nojpetén in 1697.