Who is stephen of counter part?

In episode two of the sci-fi espionage thriller, Counterpart introduces Stephen Rea (V for Vendetta, Interview With the Vampire) as Alexander Pope, an old English friend of Prime (one of J.K. Simmons' characters) who wields his power on the “other side” orchestrating schemes from behind the scenes.