What is a weather in minecraft?

Different weather events can occur in Minecraft. Rain occurs in temperate biomes, the rain will irrigate crops, extinguish fires and increase fishing rates. In cold biomes, snow will appear instead of rain. In hot biomes no weather will appear. More extreme Thunderstorms exist causing lightning