How many different types of horses are there?

Oklahoma State University lists 217 separate breeds of horses. "The Encyclopedia of the Horse", by Elwyn Hartley Edwards lists just over 150 breeds some of which are extinct. Wikipedia lists 358 breeds. There are a large number of horse breeds. Not all authorities agree on how many.