Why do people get embarrassed?

Embarrassment is a self-conscious emotion dictated by a disconnect between how we feel we should respond or act in public and how we actually respond or act. We are embarrassed when we believe we have not lived up to what society asks of us or when we are on the receiving end of undesired attention.