What is a netsuki?

Put simply, a netsuke, is a toggle, for attaching a medicine box, or tobacco pouch, to the sash worn at the waist, called an obi, on a Japanese kimono. These can be very ornate, intricately made, small objects of animal bone, ivory or wood. In the English language it's spelt, N,E,T,S,U,K,E, Netsuke.