What is a pig in a pokey?

A "Pig in a Poke" is a very old confidence trick whereby a farmer would offer a piglet for sale in a "poke" or sack. When the buyer eventually opened the sack they would find a cat instead. They were then said to have bought "A Pig in a Poke".