What was chernobyl?

Chernobyl was a Soviet era atomic power station in north Ukraine. On 26 April 19 86, a reactor at the site exploded, throwing out radioactive dust and debris. Many lives were lost in the clean up. The area is safe to visit, but the atomic plant is still very hazardous in places