Why do squirrels bury nuts?

Red and grey squirrels can’t find enough food every day during the winter, and they’d starve to death if they didn’t make appropriate preparations. During autumn, when food is abundant, squirrels have plenty of spare time to collect nuts and bury them for safe keeping.