Why is it getting dark?

During Earth's orbit in the summer months, the top of the Earth (the Northern Hemisphere) is tilted toward the sun, giving us longer days. In winter, the Northern Hemisphere points away from the sun, resulting in fewer hours of sunshine and shorter days.